Do You Expect a Perfect Body?

Aiming my arrow at the center of perfection, I told myself lie upon lie.

• You need to be thin to be attractive
• You should work hard to be the best
• You should be helping everyone that needs help
• If they saw your weakness, they wouldn’t like you

Can you see the red flags above? Do you hear them when you speak to yourself?

Whom do you think manipulates you to look down upon your gorgeous self?

Satan, the slimy salesman who convinces us we would rock if we looked or acted like that other woman. She has it all together. She handles her problems with grace. She has a perfect body.

In my early 30’s I spoke to a room full of women about culture’s pressures to be thin and attractive by society’s standards. I used present day magazines to exemplify the skinny models set as ideals. Unaware then of my hypocrisy, I sought to see a certain number on the scale. If the size of my pants went up, that indicated a horrific failure. Obsessive about what and when I ate, I structured my life around staying thin. Walking before dinner, limiting calories to 1,000 per day, and constantly checking the mirror for bodily flaws.

Thank you, Jesus, that I never withheld food from my body, or exercised to the point of exhaustion. However, my husband defined body-dysmorphic disorder as the condition involving an “obsessive focus on a perceived flaw in appearance” (www.adaa.org). Jason said that I had it.

I probably did.

The issues are complex and stack each other as they weigh down my past. Body image, self-worth and a deep-seated psychological need to be perfect.

Nothing- Zip- Zero- Nada… is too big for Our God.

Growing closer to Christ daily for the last two years, the Spirit in me says,

I will fill the deep hole in your soul that longed to be perfect. I will fill it with Me, I am. My love is bigger than your hole. My love covers human sin. My love covers you.

The mental and physical work of counting calories, the dramatically unkind process of comparison, the self-worth that scrounges for crumbs. It is all unnecessary now.

Handing over the blueprint I carefully crafted for my life, I receive a Creative, Strong Father who knows my past, present and future. Upheld by his righteous right hand, I am spiritually alive. What matters most is that I am His.

qualities-795865_960_720

 

2 Corinthians 4:18
So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

Starting right now, let’s put away our mirrors and 2017 planners.

Let’s add to the list for today: Empty the hole. Pull out each lie and lay it at the feet of Jesus.

Join me as we become the women He created us to be.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have you struggled with your appearance? Have you identified the lies Satan uses to drag you down? If this post moved you in any way, please leave a comment. I would love to hear from you. Breathe, pray, and speak truth into yourself.

10 thoughts on “Do You Expect a Perfect Body?

  1. To your questions, “yes.” ✓ The manipulations, convincing lies, deep hole of the soul… quite personal. And, universal from what I’m learning. Thank you for, once again, putting to words to what is difficult for me to express verbally. Your writing is necessary and craved in this world…. the world of people who are looking for Hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very eye opening! I do exactly what you said that you had do, in order to please others, and to please myself. God loves me just the way I am! That is so freeing to me. Thanks for sharing what the Lord is doing and has done in your life. Your blog helps more than you will ever know. I will be praying that a hedge of protection will around you and also your family!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This is great writing. Julie! This happens to a lot of females, unfortunately. I have been quilty of it, in the past. My relationship with the Lord has grown and I’m more at peace, with my physical appearance. I feel your article will help others, that this situation, is hitting close to home. God loves everyone and I pray that others come to realize that.

    Like

  4. This is great writing. Julie! This happens to a lot of females, unfortunately. I have been quilty of it, in the past. My relationship with the Lord has grown and I’m more at peace, with my physical appearance. I feel your article will help others, that this situation, is hitting close to home. God loves everyone and I pray that others come to realize that. Thank you for helping others the way you do. God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Julie I am Grateful for your transparency and vulnerability. Your willingness to touch on uncomfortable topics, that are universal to us women is where we begin to heal. You are raising an awareness of the need for us women to communicate by being willing to share our struggles, this is Beautiful. I look forward to more from Gorgeous You!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

