Calming the Christmas Craze, 1 of 3

My stomach tightened as the flyers unfolded on the table. Flashy colors, stars, and big bold letters. The ding on the phone announcing email after email.

Ideas swirling about things I “need”…

A determined, competitive edge to get the best deals…

Anxious, sweaty hands at the thought of missing a sale, or the coupon, or the BOGO…

Really, Julie?

After all the years of not knowing Jesus, you are going to get sucked into the Black Friday-Cyber Monday shopping craze?

It was like I slapped myself out of a devilish trance.

Maybe you know what I am talking about. The world begins planting the seeds of holiday shopping around Halloween. Each day closer to Thanksgiving the displays grow larger and the sales call your name, tempting you to buy, buy, buy.

christmas-money-1085021__340

I will be honest. I do not like shopping with massive crowds. I chose to cash in on a few pre-Thanksgiving sales, simply because I could shop at my leisure without someone snooping over the shoulder.

On Black Friday, however, I found myself with remorse as greater markdowns were shouted out over the internet.

That’s when the “slap” came.

How do we as Daughters to the Holy King keep perspective during the great holiday shopping race?

When logic says paying less for the same product that will double its price in a few days…that makes sense, right?

We are so confident we will save money…

Peter was confident, too. The evening before Jesus suffered at the cross, Peter announced to His Lord he would die for Him. Absolutely certain of his loyalty, Peter professed he would go to jail for Jesus. (Luke 22:33, NLT Study Bible 2008)

Before meeting his death, Jesus leaves his companions with loaded advice.

“Then, accompanied by the disciples, Jesus left the upstairs room and went as usual to The Mount of Olives. There he told them, ‘Pray that you will not fall into temptation.’” (Luke 22:39-40, NLT Study Bible 2008)

Peter did deny Jesus as Jesus predicted (Luke 22: 34). With all the confidence in the world in His Lord, Peter gave in to the temptation to lie and take the easy road without persecution.

Though we all fall into temptation at times, Jesus lights the way to Truth. In his final hours before his death, Jesus pointed his disciples to prayer.

Shall we not enlist the help of Jesus to stay on the narrow road of our budget when shopping this holiday season?

  • Before entering a store with its Christmas music playing, lights twinkling and people gathering, pray at home for wisdom to write down the essentials.
  • Pray in the car for Jesus to walk with you through the crowds. He’s good at that.
  • If you see things at the store that were NOT on your list, stop and pray right there in Kohl’s or Target. Remember, you don’t need to speak to Our Lord who knows every heart.

womanshop

Jesus will never steer us wrong. It is His wisdom that rules. Our feelings of earthly confidence, being sure we know what we need…can be an important cue to pray. Pray, shop, eat and repeat!

Holiday contest tip: click the FOLLOW button in the bottom right corner to be entered in the contest. I have 2 prizes to give away next Saturday December 3rd!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Check back Monday for series #2 and the announcement of the Holiday Blog Contest.
If you liked this blog post, please share the blessing with others.

Scroll down to comment. There’s a box that says ‘Leave a Comment’

I would love to hear from you.

4 thoughts on “Calming the Christmas Craze, 1 of 3

  1. Thanks, Julie. A great reminder and good advice on slowing down the buying! Sometimes the prices are so good we can’t pass them up simply because it’s such a “good deal” or “I might need it later”, or, “stock up”! I constantly have to remind myself I am transient here and I need to downsize instead! I read yesterday that many of us are halfway through our lives. I’m almost two thirds of the way. Yikes! I’m drowning in “stuff” already! I don’t need more! I need to depend on Jesus to guide my thoughts and habits. Your suggestions of asking Jesus to guide us during the shopping season are excellent!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great reminder to be oh so mindful during the holidays. It is so hard to listen to that little voice that speaks to our heart when we are being barraged with the media enticements. It can be done, for I beleive it’s a practice that is cultivated. I love the prayer reminders to stop and take a moment and ask for guidance before entering a store and dealing with the public. Beautifully written, Julie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

