Waiting Amidst the Medical Unknowns, A Series

Welcome back, Friends. If you are new here, make yourself at home. This post is the beginning of a series on the journey with my husband into a world of medical diagnoses and treatment. I do not know how many posts it will entail. This is an invitation to follow along with our hearts in this mess. If you know anyone else struggling through health concerns, please share these posts. My prayer is that God will use our current story to connect others with Him, and with each other here on earth. Blessings on your day, Julie

 

doctor-563428__340

Does your local hospital system email you results of blood tests, etc? Ours does. Jason’s email told us his lymph nodes (that were enlarged in October) are now bigger in January.

 
I am not convinced these emails are a great idea. Whatever happened to seeing your real live doctor to discuss results in person? My thoughts trail to those with anxiety, depression and lack of people for support … another post for another time.

 
An aura of peace surrounded us the day we walked into the medical office after receiving this email. Quietly to myself, I was thankful for Our Holy Physician for the calm in our spirits. Immediately upon his arrival, the doctor confirmed our expectation that Jason would need a biopsy.

 
The next staff rattled the security in my soul. The office manager’s role is to review policy and procedure things. Requiring Jason to sign his life away, she informed us of the multitude of things that might happen. Then … she mentioned the preadmission testing.

 
More testing? I thought the biopsy was enough, a test of what is to come.

 
She said if he had time, he could get both the EKG and the bloodwork complete today to be ready for the biopsy next week.

 
This sounds significant. They are checking systems to make sure everything is running ok, just to take a sample of something which holds the key to his medical puzzle.

 
Jason’s quick-to-accept attitude told me his peace remained. I was the one getting a little on edge. Medial stuff can easily overwhelm me. It is complicated and scary.
At different points since Jason’s surgery on 8-24-16, my heart has screamed at the injustice. Prior to this muscle repair, he only ever had wisdom teeth out. He was the picture of health.

 
Eerily, the tightrope between life and death comes into focus at the slightest threat. Prior health does not count for anything when invaders move into sacred territory. Your past does not predict your future … ever with Jesus.

 
Meditating on the enemies responsible for enlarging my husband’s lymph nodes, my first weapon is to seek the Lord. His still small voice had whispered in prayer … surrender. For the past two weeks, I had submitted my soul for Jesus-training.

 
Training, you ask?

 
Yes, when surrender is not your natural response to life’s curve balls, practice is a way to adopt it as your own. Words like these have made it into my prayers:

 
• I place Jason’s lymph nodes in your hands, Jesus
• Please help me release my desire to control circumstances, Lord
• Praise You for Your power. I know You know the ending, You wrote this chapter

 

Keep your eyes on Jesus. He, not the medical doctors and not the biopsy results, holds the key to your blessed freedom. When Jesus hears His name spoken by your lips or sees His name written on your heart, He will free you:

 
From angst-
From emotional burden-
From a Satan-fueled desire to control things you cannot-

los-cabos-68861_1280
With surrender as my theme in prayer, I have been reminded by the Spirit to take deep breaths often. I am overwhelmed at the kindness and numbers of people willing to pray us through this. Wisdom from above says take one day at a time: breathe, pray, knit your family hearts together in love, keep blessed routines of reading the Bible and devotions.

 
I ask you, is there any other way that you are aware of to be at peace amidst the unknowns?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
As always, I treasure your comments here or reach out to me via social media links below.
Connect with me on Twitter https://www.Twitter.com/@julie_dibble
Facebook https://www.Facebook.com/JulieDibbleChristianSpeakerandAuthor
Enjoy your weekend. Look the next post in this series next Tuesday in which I will focus on the biopsy procedure itself.
In His Love and Service,
Julie

10 thoughts on “Waiting Amidst the Medical Unknowns, A Series

  1. Julie

    I was reminded to give my fear to Jesus the minute I shook the hand of my daughter’s surgeon the night of her thoracic surgery. I felt immediately calm upon shaking his hand. Our Lord was with us right then and there and I began to breathe more deeply sensing she would survive.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Julie, I hate to throw scripture out, but this is truly my mainstay: Philippians 4:6-7 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God, and the peace of God which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” Of course, I know you know this already. I love how you share so openly and appreciate your willing open heart to the Lord. He will be glorified through this time. Prayers going up for Jason even now for healing, as well as for you for God’s peace and calm in the storm.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Terri, never worry about sharing scripture. It is one way God connects us. Thank you so very much for your caring heart and prayers. I am leaning into Him while alone and with Jason as often as possible. In His Love and Service, Julie

      Like

  3. Dear Julie, I’ve added your family to my prayer list. I admire your wisdom in remembering to keep your devotional dates with the Lord. He is our Rock. I pray your family continues to have peace through this challenging time; may God’s will and victory prevail.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the gift of prayer, Cathy. It means a lot. Thank you to you and your husband for serving. Each month I send out a monthly prayer in honor of military and first responders. If you are interested, let me know. Blessings, Julie

      Like

Leave a Reply

