Connection not Comparison

treefriends

Praying as I walked, my eyes were drawn to these trees. They were twisted together, overlapping. I imagined they were holding hands. Each very different. One … bright green boasting life and hope. The other straggly and gray, needing his friend with more spirit.

I understand trees don’t compare themselves to others … or do they? Somehow this skinny tree knew it needed to hold onto its neighbor, rather than turn away.

Love your neighbors as yourselves. (Mark 12:31)

From God’s view, there is a desire for everyone’s hearts to shine. Some of us get tangled up trying to shine brighter than our neighbor … yet others of us slink away to hide because we feel we are just not bright enough.

This temptation to compare ourselves to others has two downfalls:

• When we feel less than the other
• When we feel better than the other

I have experienced both.

When someone I knew in the past chatted with me, telling me of her two books with the third on the way, I felt like an immediate failure.

At the time, I was coming off five years of babysitting and staying at home with my kids.
God was drawing me nearer with every breath, though His plans for me had not been revealed.

My thoughts turned on what I, Julie Dibble, had not accomplished with my education and prior career.

Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall. (Proverbs 16:18)

 

As I compared myself to this long-ago friend on the phone, I was stuck … and she was soaring … had started her own company, written books and accomplished many things on her own.

I was less
She was more

John the Baptist celebrated his mighty supporting role in Jesus’ ministry. Eating bugs, forging through wilderness, calling out for sinners to be baptized, he humbly took no credit:

But someone is coming soon who is greater than I am, so much greater that I’m not worthy even to be his slave and carry his sandals. (Matthew 3:11)

Early in my walk with Jesus, my pastor mentioned the seven deadly sins. When I got home and looked them up, pride stared me in the face at the top of the list, the most deadly.

With fear in my fingertips, I began to journal asking the Lord for His help to remove pride from my heart, from my veins that should run His blood not mine.

Whether we feel less than OR more than, it is pride.

The only Highest we serve is Jesus

When we believe in our Holy Creator’s master design of each and every individual on the face of this planet, we have no logical reason to feel less than.

You were created with a perfect purpose defined by Him and unique to you.

And if we are going to look for strength and a boost in our ability to do something, we seek Him … He who makes the stars shine in the blackness of night and He who raises dead to life.

Therefore as it written, “ Let the one who boasts, boast in the Lord.” (1 Corinthians 1:31)

Even following my conviction from the Holy Spirit to stop drinking alcohol, I was telling myself my sin was not as bad as some others in the past.

• I did not drive while under the influence
• I did not get arrested due to alcohol use

Walking with Jesus is such a blessing when He lifts the veil to show Truth. I had no business drinking alcohol with my genetic make-up. Many times, the devil himself danced with me as I ignored responsible drinking habits.

A sin is a sin is a sin.

I know what you are thinking. Those who murder and do horrendous things … but our Savior died for ALL of us, not a select few.

Peter assured us, “I see very clearly that God shows no favoritism. In every nation he accepts those who fear him and do what is right.” (Acts 10:34)

All sinners have forgiveness and freedom available through Jesus Christ Our Savior.

So let us seek connection with Jesus first … let’s walk on this ground under His Holy Heaven.

If you catch yourself feeling less than or more than, remember you are human with the rest of the seven billion people on the planet.

We all are born and will die. We all need food, water and love.

I believe we all need Jesus.

Connect with people, show compassion and abandon comparison.

Make every effort to congratulate those who are more successful than you.

Humble yourself to ask for feedback and guidance.

Seek Him in all things …

Trust you are only less than your Creator
while He is more than anything we can possibly imagine.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for visiting today! Thoughts here about connecting with human beings were inspired by The Book of Joy by Dalai Lama, Archbishop Tutu and Doug Adams.
Have you struggled with comparison in your life? Have you felt distant from others because you feel less than?
I would love to hear your thoughts. Leave a comment here, or find the blog on social media to share and comment there.
https://facebook.com/jdibble4Him
https://twitter.com/@julie_dibble
https://instagram.com/@jayjule03

In His Love and Service,

Julie

 

