When Your Past Says You Are Not Enough, Part 2

I am so glad you are here. Come along as I dive in to the topics of time and money. Oh, on the surface they have little to do with self-worth, but we are here to get to the nitty gritty, where Jesus meets us to shake our souls more toward Him:

As God prepared my heart and mind to believe in Him, I can remember having this wake-up call before I ever made the decision to accept Him is real.

business-1137397_640
I was working as a director of a small catering company. Managing sales, marketing and each individual event, the job and my success was all-consuming. I would be up at 3am to email price quotes to potential wedding customers. Multitasking the mornings, I would email follow-ups while I was making the boys’ lunches.

Almost my whole life was dedicated to the sales process or the job in some way, shape or form.

About 5 years ago, my brother and his wife helped take care of our boys because my husband was working, and I had an event. Around midnight, I arrived at my brother’s in laws, where everyone would stay until morning.

My body was physically tired, and my heart felt like it was water-logged.

You know when you stay in the pool too long, or that super heavy towel that does get wrung out in the spin cycle?

rain-756647__340

Unshed tears stacked high.
The history of how I grew up was heavy.

At some point in the night’s conversation about the craziness of my catering job, I said something like,

“I am doing just what Mom did. I am emotionally unavailable to my family as she was to us.”

God had begun to prepare my heart to bust wide open.

For the last four years, He has peeled back layers of perfectionism that masked my low self-worth. With His amazingly compassionate help, He has cleared my eyes to see the changes needed in myself.

lipstick-791761_640

Christ’s mirror revealed the woman
whose soul needed validation from work,
whose underlying fear about not having enough money
fueled long work hours which neglected the people in her world.

The enemy will use time and the apparent need for money to control your heart, steering you far away from the truth.

Proverbs 21:20
What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul?

Sometimes, I still get pulled by a devilish taunt, the one that whispers:

If you just spend more time writing free-lance articles, you can make more money.

It’s a wiley, whirly world we live in.

pinwheel-1716620__340

Do you hear things like that, too?

Invitations to work more, work harder, to have a bigger check or more fun money?

Commercials or emails that show you the best vacation on earth?

Car sales people who want nothing else from you except the most money they can get?

What good is more money if you are too tired to enjoy your family on your days off?

Matthew 6:24
No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.

One of the first images God gave me about this time/money thing was this:

mercedes-1338063__340

You cannot drive your new car [or bring your new purse or wear your latest fashion] as you pass through the pearly gates … and before you [prayerfully] reach Heaven it won’t be the new car [or purse or outfit] you are thankful for.

Time spent with those you love is a precious gift.
It is a love-filled challenge seeking ways to spend less money and more time.

Recently, we have gone bike riding together …

braedonandmebikepic

Let me say, it is important to be good at your chosen occupation.
And money is necessary for this earthly life.
But the HUGE difference is where you receive your worth.

Who is Lord in your heart?

Let Paul’s words soak into your soul:

1 Timothy 6:11-12
But you, [insert your name here] are a man/woman of God, so run from all these evil things. Pursue righteousness and a godly life, along with faith, love, perseverance and gentleness. Fight the good fight for true faith. Hold tightly to the eternal life to which God has called you, which you have confessed so well before many witnesses.

 

Join me in this prayer for all of God’s people:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Today we praise You, Lord. You are mighty and righteous and perfect in all Your ways. Your wisdom is what we need each moment You grant.

I raise up to You all the women and men of working age, Lord. I ask that You affirm our worth as Your daughters and sons. I boldly ask You draw us so close to the cloth that drapes Your body that we sense strongly Your sweet, loving presence residing in us.

We want to feel Your grip as we enter the wide-open world where demons dress as loving sisters and brothers and burrow beneath our skin to steal our souls. We pray for You to take things like pride and greed out of us and send it to the wild pigs or something. We just know that we cannot see You clearly when greed for time and money rule.

You, Lord, are our only source of life we want to know, a life guided by Your light of Hope for today and all our tomorrows.
Thank You for Your mighty love and the wisdom You provide us to stay on the narrow path to Heaven.
In Jesus’ Holy Name we pray today,

Amen

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for reading. What have been your bright spots in giving worries about time and money to God? Do you still have concerns about your identity?

Please feel free to email if you would like to raise you to Our Lord in prayer.

Let’s stay connected on social media:

You can like and follow me at https://facebook.com/jdibble4Him

https://instagram.com/@jayjule03

https://twitter.com/@julie_dibble

12 thoughts on “When Your Past Says You Are Not Enough, Part 2

  1. Ah…Julie, thank you for using your talent for the Lord. For bringing truth to our eyes and heart as we read the words written. You are my blessing today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thinking of ending my season as an Executive Director for a freeing and less demanding job…why is it we always go back to $. It’s almost like a brave step as well as humbling to choose to be paid less in exchange for feeling at peace.

    Great post. Thank you. Pray, if you will that God will choose my best choice of place.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is beautiful, Julie! It’s like the Bible says, “where your treasure is, there your heart will be”. How sad when we get our priorities wrong and treasure the wrong things. Thanks for the sobering truths you have shared here. And a big “Amen” to the prayer at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

