Guest Post by Debra Gray Elliot

Good morning! Welcome back. Today, I am honored to introduce Debra Gray Elliot, a new virtual author friend of mine. Friends, her story is of powerful healing by Jesus. If you know other women who need to hear her story, please share this post. You can learn more about Debra and her book at the end.

ashespic

From Ashes of Pity into Beauty of Purpose by Debra Gray Elliott:
November 4th, 1977 changed my life. I was sixteen and thrown into a world I could not comprehend. It was on this day my life went spiraling out of control. It was the day I lost my innocence, my self-worth, the day my baby was taken from my womb. It was the day I had an abortion.

My childhood had been idyllic. Perfect parents who loved me and I loved back, until my father passed away when I was fifteen. After his death, my mother became an alcoholic and I became out-of-control. I did not care what I did. I turned to drugs and sex and got pregnant. One mistake was all it took for me to lose myself and my unborn child.

I will never forget the moment it all happened. I wanted to scream, but I had no voice. My life was not my own. I was a ward of the State of Oregon and so was my body.

The procedure took what to me seemed like forever, but it was only a few minutes. Afterwards, I cried, I grieved, I suffered. I felt worthless.

It was in my pain and grief through post-abortion recovery, I started writing about my journeys and how God led me through the ashes into beauty. The end result of my grief was hope and healing. It is hope and healing that I want to give to other women who are experiencing pain and grief.

From Ashes of Pity into Beauty of Purpose brings emotionally charred women out of the pits of fire, through the ashes into the beauty of purpose. With the direction of God, hurting women weather through the painful journeys, become women of spiritual beauty, find God’s purpose, and learn to live again.

Many women who have gone through an abortion feel worthless, like I did. I had to remember God loves me and to Him I have value and meaning. I am not worthless and neither are you!

Except from the book:

Everyday counts:
So, remove grief and anger from your heart and out away pain from your body, because childhood and the prime of life are fleeting. Ecclesiastes 11:10 (NASB)

Every day of your life counts! Do not store away grief and anger. You are somebody You have purpose, you have worth. God sees only the best in you.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here’s more about the lovely woman of God, who shared her heart with us today!

debgraypic
Christian author and speaker Debra Gray Elliott began writing at the age of fifteen after the death of her father. She began writing poetry as a way to cope with her grief. At the age of sixteen, Debra once again experienced grief when she was forced to have an abortion. It was in this grief that she found herself in the ashes of pity. Forty years later, Debra found her beauty of purpose.

From Ashes of Pity into Beauty of Purpose is Debra’s first non-fiction Christian self-help, inspirational book to help women through the ashes of pity into the beauty of purpose after having an abortion.

Debra is currently working on a devotional for grieving parents. The loss of her daughter four years ago, has led Debra to want to help other grieving parents through their grief into hope.

She resides in Alabama with her husband and family.

Website: http://anngrayelliott1960.wixsite.com/authordebraelliott

Purchase From Ashes of Pity into Beauty of Purpose

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Friends, thank you for visiting today. Check back Thursday for my husband’s and my short love story! Until then, lets connect on social media:

https://Instagram.com/@jayjule03

https://Facebook.com/jdibble4Him

https://Twitter.com/@julie_dibble

2 thoughts on “Guest Post by Debra Gray Elliot

Leave a Reply

