Our Holy Guide: A Poem

crossgravespic

Jeremiah 32:36-39
They will be my people, and I will be their God. And I will give them one heart and one purpose to worship me forever, for their own good and for the good of all their descendants.

Our Holy Guide

Through Jerusalem’s fall
During every world war
When flood-powered waves pound walls
God is there

At the crumble of a marriage,
The onset of cancer,
While cars crash and criminals rummage,
God is the Master

He seizes the highest level of chaos,
Depths of despair
Valleys of monumental loss
God restores

Can we trust like Jeremiah,
In the face of death and ridicule,
Have faith and tell His good news?
Jeremiah listened to just One Voice in the vestibule.

Join me as we call His name,
Jesus, Our Only Lord and Savior
For His glory, His fame!

Let us abide in Our Holy Guide,
Lose the distractions, the money-grabbing factions
To live in His amazing peace, surpassing every logical mind.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for being here today. This poem was written with the Five Minute Friday Community. Word prompt this week is GUIDE. If you are interested in joining, go to http://www.fiveminutefriday.com

For next week, what topic are you interested in for Monday? Leave in the comments and have a blessed weekend!

  1. Did I Pray for a Messy Life?
  2. 5 Choices to Change Your Week
18 thoughts on “Our Holy Guide: A Poem

  1. Some very deep and contemplative thoughts. I love Colin Buchanan’s song that he wrote after September 11, God is King, He’s going to look after everything. I get tears in my eyes from the anointing on it when he plays it in his live concerts. (He’s an Aussie singer song writer with some incredible children’s resources, but also worship albums. My children love him.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “surpassing every logical mind” Good thing. If started thinking logically, we’d never get out of bed, most mornings. Especially this morning. I would be out of bed by now, because the day looks so beautiful and promising, but it didn’t “feel” like that when the alarm went off at 6:15 am. God Bless and thank you
    for your encouraging and much appreciated words. Have a wonderful weekend. All my love, Betti Singh

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love how your poem reminds us that even when things seem chaotic, God is there, he is still in charge and he can restore. it makes a big difference if we keep our focus on him and listen for his voice. Hope you have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Julie, I am so blessed by your gift of poetry! How you arranged this was amazing-weaving in God’s character with our circumstances. “Let us abide in Our Holy Guide,
    Lose the distractions, the money-grabbing factions
    To live in His amazing peace, surpassing every logical mind.” What clever wording!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much for this encouragement for my writing Stephanie. All the glory goes to He who is with me when I write. Thank you Jesus for blessing Stephanie through this poem. I am powering off for the night, but I look forward to reading your post tomorrow. Blessings upon your rest, Julie😴

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi there, my friend. “God restores” even when [fill in the blank]. Some powerful thoughts there. Choosing faith in “Our Holy Guide” over fear this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Julie, beautiful poem! I’m so thankful God is our all in all. That He is with us through every happening in our lives. Your words resonated with my heart. I loved this!

    PS—Both topics sound good, but I’ll go with the second one. 5 Choices to Change Your Week. Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

