5 Choices to Change Your Week

Friends, have you ever wanted your week to start over?
Or you get to the end, and you feel the only way from here is better?

It is my daily desire to follow Jesus with my whole heart and soul. The more I put my soul into Jesus, the better my life is by the moment, by the day. As my perfectionist self fades into the past, I feel empowered by these choices to seek Him and be uplifted in the face of a difficult day/week:

1) The minute you open your eyes, thank God.

roosterpic

It can be as simple as thank you for another day, thank you for breath in my lungs, thank you for the uninterrupted sleep. This one minute at the beginning of your day will turn your heart to Your Lord. From one coffee lover-needer to the rest of you, I can testify this one minute of thankfulness can be done without caffeine.

There are all kinds of reasons to linger with Jesus when the coffee is brewed, but not everyone has time like this every day.

coffeeampic

Colossians 3:17 And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Pair with the song “God of All My Days” by Casting Crowns.

2) Before your day begins at work, take 5 minutes to ask God to search your heart.

I don’t know about you, but my soul feels heavy when there is ugliness in my heart. And it gives Satan something to work with.

Paired with song “Listen to my Heart”, by Casting Crowns

Search me, Oh God and know my heart, Try me and know my anxious thoughts and see if there be any hurtful way in me, And lead me in the everlasting way. Psalm 139:23-24

searchheartspic

Say the verse and close your eyes and think of Jesus. Allow your heart to open in this moment so throughout our day, God can let you know if He finds anything

Oswald Chambers says this: If you are not right with God, you can never turn your mind anywhere but on yourself. (My Utmost for His Highest, August 26th) This was sobering when I read it the other day.

3) Picture me, running around in my jams, looking for shoes to drive Braedon to school. I complete that task, then I get back and get organized. Except there’s the hurt I felt when Jason snapped at me yesterday, and Jackson is refusing to brush his teeth and there’s bills to be pay and I need to write. Ugh …

We all have something to surrender every day, so hand it over (choice number 3).

God really doesn’t ask for much. He invites us to show up at the table where He has a seat waiting for us. Once we are in that seat, there’s a oneness, a secret way of just being with Him that is the surrender.

tablepic

Paired with song “To the Table” by Zach Williams

James 4:7: Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

4) The first 3 choices have helped armor you up against unseen enemies. Satan is waiting, skulking to pounce at some point in your week, if he hasn’t already. He surely doesn’t like it when you thank your Mighty God first thing in the morning and block his entry to your day.

Be prepared is the number 4 choice to change your week.

 

1 Peter 5:8 Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.

Have 2-5 people in place that you can text for prayer in the event of an enemy attack during the day, and 2-5 people who not only pray but believe the power Jesus has to intervene when they intercede for a sister or brother in Christ.

 

footballpraypic

Have Jesus’ name on the tip of your tongue all day.

Proverbs 18:21 The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.

Speak His name, think His name, Love His name, Believe in the power of His name.

He alone is your fortress.

Paired with “Break Every Chain” by Jesus Culture.

5) Choose truth.

His truth is you are beloved His child placed on this earth for His purpose and His glory.

If there are any lies that counter this truth that creep into your mind, heart or soul, recognize it as a lie and its power is gone.

In the beginning of my journey, I listened to Casting Crowns song “The Voice of Truth” so much, Jackson would wander into the kitchen and say, “This song again, mom?” I had to retrain my whole being to listen to truth, not lies. This song coupled with prayer was what I chose to focus on.

A side note for all my social media friends, when you find yourself seeking truth mid- week to readjust your eyes to Him, please focus. If you scroll through Insta or Facebook and you find something that resonates, keep it, let it steep in your soul.

We were not made to see His truth for a nanosecond. The scribers of His truth in biblical times took precious time with ink and crinkly paper that wouldn’t lay flat. And so many desperate for His truth hang onto their bibles for many years with their torn pages and sticky notes in the margins.

oldbiblepic

His truth is meant to be forever written on your heart, not a momentary fix.

The most beautiful thing about Jesus is His truth is always wrapped in His love and forgiveness. Just as Our Father, Son and Spirit are intimately connected, so are is His love, truth and grace. You cannot receive one without the other.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I would love to hear from you. Maybe you have something that has been a week-changer for you? It can get messy, but you know you are His when in the midst of the mess there is peace and hope. If you have any questions about Jesus, I am honored if you would email me at juliedibblespeaks@gmail.com

Until then, let’s connect!

Live post today at 11:45a “I Did Not Worry Enough Last Week” https://Facebook.com/jdibble4Him

https://Instagram.com/@jayjule03

https://Twitter.com/@julie_dibble

6 thoughts on “5 Choices to Change Your Week

  1. Julie, these are great things to do! And thank you for the resources–the songs and quotes from Oswald Chambers. I need to re-read that book. 🙂 I think the biggest one I need to hang onto is submitting to God–especially in the area of my tongue. It’s been a haaard morning with my boys, and I need to ask God for help with my tongue and my ‘tude.

    Super post, Julie!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Jeanne for your kind feedback. I have really enjoyed Oswald Chambers My Utmost for His Highest. Its a short but deep beginning to my day. And what’s funny is when my friend gave me the book this past January, my first reaction was “I don’t need another devotional”. I am praying now for your heart to soften both toward yourself and your boys and for Him to make Himself known. Blessings, Julie

      Like

Leave a Reply

