Where do I Belong?

belongmemepic

If we are honest with ourselves, we all want to fit in. It would be our most comfortable way to be in the world if wherever we went, people liked us, and included us in their social and visionary missions.
It hurts when:

We do our best to comment on other blogs but receive no communication back.

The people right in our midst choose to engage others in conversation and just simply leave you out.

We work on a group project at work, but the boss chooses two names (not yours) to highlight as the reason the project soared.

Is it pride?
Some of it is. You’re a likeable person with much to offer. Why wouldn’t they want to celebrate your ideas or invite you to the party?
If we are not armored up, the enemy can twist the truth and urge us to inflate ourselves.

“I can do all things through Christ Jesus who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13

Satan will emphasize the ‘I’ as he did with Eve, and send you chasing status, dollar signs and an artificial self-esteem.
Jesus prefers we focus on Him. He is our Healer, Redeemer and Our Source of Abundant Life.
Belonging is a human need deep below the surface sometimes smeared with selfish desires. Being excluded sends a powerful message.
It is like our soul cries, Don’t I matter? Am I not enough?

manbelongpic
That desire to be part of a larger something was placed in every heart by God. When Jesus speaks his final prayer, part of His mystery is revealed:

“My prayer is not for the world, but for those you have given me, because they belong to you. All who are mine belong to you, and you have given them to me, so they bring me glory.” John 17:9-10

The ultimate sense of belonging comes from accepting Jesus as Your Lord and Savior.

1 Corinthians 3:21-23
“So don’t boast about following a particular human leader. For everything belongs to you, whether Paul or Apollos or Peter, or the world, or life or death, or the present or the future. Everything belongs to you, and you belong to Christ, and Christ belongs to God.”

As I grow in Christ, I find myself standing on the fringe sometimes. The old Julie laments, “I don’t fit in!”
Spirit whispers, “I don’t want you to.”

crossdanglepic

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What are your thoughts about belonging? I would love to hear.
I am little-kid excited about an announcement I have for you this week. Tune into my Facebook page https://Facebook.com/jdibble4Him for the updates and the announcement!

Take a rest, throw a ball, read a book, visit with family, whatever you do this Labor Day, enjoy. Until Wednesday …

13 thoughts on “Where do I Belong?

  1. Love this, Julie! God has me working through a different aspect of belonging. He is calling me to be brave and stand apart – scary for me. Through this shifting, some people dear to me have pulled back, fallen away. He has walked this path with me and sent me new, surprising people to stand with me. I’m discovering sometimes authentic belonging begins with standing apart. As always, your blog posts touch my heart and make me think.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Feeling on the outside is so hard. I’m beginning to realize how many of us really feel that way. I have to say, I am so very thankful for you. Know that I’m right there with you working to get out of the way and let Christ work through me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Janyre, I could not agree more, how many of us feel on the outside … which for me begged the question of do we fit in ever when we are set apart (led to today’s post)? Thank you for joining me today here, but thank you in general for walking with Jesus and me. And always, thank you Jesus for your patience and your guidance.

      Like

  3. Oh those days when I don’t fit in, I remind myself that this world is not my real home. Scripture says we’ll be set apart, that we should be different, that we’ll be insulted and maligned. I do a gut-check to make sure I’m in His will, then look for the blessing in the situation. Usually, there’s a bigger reason.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Carole! It is a comfort to know others struggle and return to Him for truth. I have been back to Scripture where Jesus isn’t welcomed or supported by His hometown many times. I have been surprised about my lack of fitting in certain areas of my life. I appreciate your thoughts here. Lets continue to wrap ourselves in His belonging and see where He takes us!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for this article on one of my key issues. Isaiah 43:1 speaks to me. “But now, this is what the LORD says—he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: ‘Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine,'” God said it. I believe it. It’s settled. -D

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

