Who Writes Your Story?

storymeme

There’s always room for a story that can transport people to another place.
~J.K. Rowling

Before I became a writer, the word story screamed fiction. Pretending, imagining, drawing others in to dark, fun, scary, blissful places that do not really exist. I read a lot as a kid, mostly fiction.
Story has grown in its meaning.

Each face and sentence spoken is a story. As my boys grow into young men, I gasp and think they have their own stories and soon my role will be smaller.

When I witness a mom spouting at her kids with barebone patience, I remember.
When I see others celebrating life with alcohol, I remember.
When a scowl and a growl meet me in the store, I remember.

Jesus changes stories.

His power over everything dark brings light to every story, regardless of its content.

When I fully surrender, I honor Him, the author of my heavenly ending.

But to craft each step, plan accordingly, bite my nails while attempting to solve …

Just as I fear being whittled out of my sons’ stories as they grow …

Can you see the Morning Star of your story and mine scratching His head as we toil off in strong willful directions …

jesusgravepic

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have you thought about how Jesus has impacted your story? If you are looking for a place to share with others, I will be hosting one guest story per month for all of 2017.

Thank you for being here today on the blog. This post was written in response to the word prompt STORY from the Five Minute Friday community. If you want to join, all are welcome. http://www.fiveminutefriday.com

Exciting things on the horizon! We will welcome our October guest and her story in the coming weeks. More live posts coming at https://www.Facebook.com/jdibble4Him. Any topics in 5 or so minute segments you would like to see?

 

12 thoughts on “Who Writes Your Story?

  1. Oh, I love that JK Rowling quote! Her writing is truly extraordinary in transporting you to other places! But even in our own lives, may we always look out for the stories around us and rejoice with how it unfolds for other people.
    Visiting from FMF today.

    Like

  2. Love this Julie! I love to hear people’s stories and I love that God never quits writing ours. On my desk, I have a little plaque that reads, “my story isn’t over yet” to remind me God still has plans for me. One of the many cool things about God is you never know where He might take you and there’s always another chapter. So happy and blessed He wove us into each other’s stories as we endeavor to serve Him through the written word.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thankyou so much Liz. Love your plaque. I often think of Phillipians 1:6 to remember our stories aren’t over until Jesus completes them. That part of you never know where he will take you is a bit unnerving at times. Yes, blessed we have connected. Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

