3 Questions to Stay Thankful in Stress

3questionsmeme.png

What circumstances are you in right now as we head into the holiday season?
Are you on the sidelines watching as your loved ones argue and refuse to compromise?

duckswatchingpic
Are you part of the crowd at work that feels management cares nothing about its employees?

duckcrowdpic
Have you looked for help and found none?

duckpeekpic
Or have you had just about enough of whatever it is, and you need time and space to yourself?

duckwalkawaypic
It’s amazing isn’t it, how quickly our lives can change? One day we are at peace with ourselves our lives and the next day BOOM out of nowhere, a hairpin turn that changes your thoughts, feelings and understanding of the future.

hairpinturnpic
Sometimes the challenging season we are in lasts a loooooong time with no end in sight. Each day is a replay of the one before. Caught, stuck in a routine that at times feels hopeless.

When is it time to be thankful while under such pressure and maybe sadness?

clockpic

His truth says be thankful in all circumstances (1Thessalonians 5:18). For most of my life (before God), I felt a victim of my circumstances. How could bad things keep happening, one after the other and why, why, why.
If you have felt that way, I have good news for you.
memehandofGod
For me, knowing God is the creator of life and all things means there IS an explanation for the bad things. We just don’t always KNOW the explanation.

We may not know the why’s of our current troubles, but we have hope in the One who does.

His truth tells us He will use ALL things for the good of His people (Romans 8:28). Every tear, every pain of your heart, every lost job, broken relationship, every mistake … all things.

His truth also says when we accept Jesus, we become new (2 Corinthians 5:17).

Jesus is always working, teaching, and humbling. I no longer feel a victim. I honor Him as the giver and taker of life. When it comes to trouble on this earth, He has taught me to surrender.

Giving over all my

worries

questions

complaints

Empties my spirit

Makes room for

My God

to fill me

with His goodness that goes beyond my wildest dreams

Grace

Mercy

And His love.

For. Ever.

He is our hope that lives in us.

We have the power to choose Him as Our Savior each and every day, in times of peace and when the storms of stress hit.

Paul writes:
“For you have been given not only the privilege of trusting in Christ but also the privilege of suffering for Him. We are in the struggle together. You have seen my struggle in the past, and know that I am still in the midst of it” (Philippians 1:29-30).

Things can be really hard, and yet God blesses us in the midst. Always working behind the scenes when we are largely unaware, He places people in our worlds at just the right time, He provides practical things and creative inspiration to raise us up, raise us as Christ was raised up after He suffered.

Hope in Heaven is UP.

Christ raised up, and so will we when we allow His work in our lives, when we surrender our will to His.

duckwingsuppic
Yes, to giving thanks in all circumstances because this truth is teaching us to trust Him, seek Him in the midst of the scariest unknowns. With thanks in your heart, look up as often as you need to in hard times.

Three Questions to Stay Thankful In Stress:
1) Where did I feel/sense God’s presence today?
2) What or whom did God use to bless me today?
3) How was my situation used by God for others today?

Christ’s suffering held the worlds’ darkness and sin.
He will take your pain if you release it to Him.

Psalm 25:14-21
The Lord is a friend to those who fear Him
He teaches them His covenant
My eyes are always on the Lord
For He rescues me from the traps of my enemies
Turn to me and have mercy
For I am alone and in deep distress
My problems go from bad to worse,
Oh, save me from them all!
Feel my pain and see my trouble.
Forgive all my sins.
See how many enemies I have
And how viciously they hate me!
Protect me! Rescue my life from them!
Do not let me be disgraced for in You I take refuge.
May integrity and honesty protect me,
For I put my hope in You.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for being here. Are there things you have found to help you stay thankful in times of stress? I would love to hear your thoughts here in the comments.

As we approach Thanksgiving, I want to give you the heads up I will be hosting a blog contest and offering one week of 5 minute devotionals to prepare for the holidays with peace. I will provide dates and details next week!

If you haven’t had a chance, check out Monday Morning Motivation Videos at https://www.Facebook.com/jdibble4Him

Enjoy this given day.

In Christ,

Julie

8 thoughts on “3 Questions to Stay Thankful in Stress

  1. Another excellent, thought provoking post. Something I do to stay thankful in stressful situations is to remember God’s faithfulness through past stressful situations. When I remember how He’s showed up and walked me through other difficult seasons, it always makes me thankful and reminds me I can trust Him to walk me through again. Thank you for your gift of sharing God’s love.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for being here Liz. Yes, calling upon our memories of God’s faithfulness is an helpful way to keep our hearts right with God. Thank you for sharing that because it is a good reminder for me. Blessings upon your weekend, my writing friend. I will read your post today sometime over the weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

